"Broken Toe 8 Months ago, still waiting surgery"

About: The James Cook University Hospital / Trauma and orthopaedics Whitby Community Hospital / Trauma and orthopaedics

(as the patient),

I broke my little toe 8 months ago, and it was only agreed on Nov 5th that I need surgery to repair it... However because I have been moved between different practices I have been told that my waiting time for the operation can be up to another 18 weeks.

I had 2 X Rays at Whitby which both revealed that my toe was apparently not broken. I disagreed as I was in constant pain and required several trips to my Dr for pain relief. He agreed to refer me to a consultant at the One Life Clinic, Linthorpe Road.

I had to wait until July for this appointment. The consultant wanted an MRI scan done, and it took until October to have the scan and the results. When the results came through, the consultant agreed it was broken and I need a referal to the frature clinic as they were unsure as to what to do.

I had to constantly ring to chase up the follow up appointment which finally came through for the 5th November.

I had a weight bearing X-ray and this confirmed I definitely had a break that had got worse and now required surgery which includes bone graft and pinning. A consultant said it would be done in Jan 2015. However, if I had not had a date through in 4 weeks to ring. I rang as I had not heard and I was told the waiting times are 18 weeks....

I have been in constant pain since the break in May, 8 Months ago...! !

My Dr has prescribed Codiene, Co Codamol, and Gabapentin to help ease the pain.

My work have changed my car to an automatic so I can continue driving, as it is my left foot.

I saw my doc and they said I should not have to wait a further 18 weeks, as I have already been delayed many months. They are going to chase this up, but in the mean time suggrested I contacted PALS.

They contacted the James Cook Hospital in Middlesbrough, and I have been told the best they can do is put me on the last minute list which means if there is a cancellation I will be contacted.

Why is it if I had a broken arm, leg or other bone needing surgery and I had gone through A&E I would have surgery within a few days?

Being left for over 8 months is totally unacceptable. I will have complications ie Arthritis in the joint. And that's if the surgery works. It may need to be amputated if the operation doesn't fix my break. I am needing a bone graft to encourage new growth as the break is now too far apart to heal on it's own.

If I had been given the correct treatment in the beginning ie a weight bearing X-ray, this would have shown the severity of the break and I would have had the operation months ago.

I am not prepared to wait another 18 weeks for surgery when I have been in so much pain for so long.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Barbara Myers, IG & Legal Services Advisor, South Tees Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Good morning

Thank you for your feedback, regarding the problems you have experienced, obtaining an appointment for surgery. I am sorry you have cause for concern and we will of course investigate this. I should be grateful therefore, if you would contact the Patient, Advice & Liaison Service on 01642 854807, where a member of the team will be able to assist you.

Yours sincerely

Miss Barbara Bellamy

Patient Relations Secretary.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Update posted by KizzyMay (the patient)

I already have done that and although very helpful initially, they were unable to resolve the problem... To get surgery I decided to try a 3rd consultant this time at the Fryage and I am due for surgery this week.

10 1/2 months after the initial accident.....!!!!the time lapse from point of accident to point if surgery is totally unacceptable... By leaving me so long the problem has been made far worse and now requires a bone graft to rectify.... If I had had the correct treatment and referral to the fracture clinic earlier I would not be in this position now.

Response from The James Cook University Hospital

Good morning Thank you for your feedback, regarding the problems you have experienced, obtaining an appointment for surgery. I am sorry you have cause for concern and we will of course investigate this. I should be grateful therefore, if you would contact the Patient, Advice & Liaison Service on 01642 854500, where a member of the team will be able to assist you. Yours sincerely Miss Helen Newman Acting Deputy Patient Relations Manager