"Doctors and service overall"

About: Lanarkshire Community Services

(as the patient),

I sometimes self harm as a way of coping with situations that have occurred and I went to the doctors as I was feeling suicidal.

At first I was turned away from the surgery by the receptionist, after she had spoken to the duty Dr, and was advised to call Samaritans.

I called NHS 24 and they arranged for me to see the GP later on that day. I attended the appointment to be met by 2 doctors. I then sat crying saying how I couldn't sleep and gave them other symptoms and one of them turned round and told me that the way I self harmed (I do it internally which means no one knows and can't see but sometimes I need surgery in an emergency) meant it was obvious I was doing it for attention and everyone knew that and that's why they had refused to see me.

I left more upset and angry than I was when I walked into the room due to the rude doctors and bad service overall.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Laura Jack, Patient Affairs Manager, Primary Care Division, NHS Lanarkshire

picture of Laura Jack

Hi Rachelb9331,

I’m sorry to read about the difficulties you experienced trying to get an urgent appointment to see your GP.

I’m glad NHS 24 were able to arrange an appointment later for you to see the Doctor’s, however I’m sorry that you left feeling disappointed and upset.

If you would like to discuss your experience further please contact me directly on 01698 858 292 or via email at laura.bryan@lanakshire.scot.nhs.uk

Kind Regards

Laura

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story