"Unacceptable"

About: Queen's Hospital (Romford)

My husband was brought to A&E by ambulance, which I had to phone up for 3 times and kept getting told none were available. He had severe abdominal pains. On arriving at Queens was looked at by triage nurse and left laying on a bed with no attention. The nurses were more interested in discussing their frothcoming weekend shifts with each other. He was given some pain relief which did not work. To cut a long tedious story short. We arrived at 2.15 in the early hours of the morning and no Doctor was available to examine him until 10 o clock the following morning. He had a kidney stone.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Queen's Hospital

Thank you for leaving your comment on NHS Choices. I am sorry to hear that you had such a long wait in our Emergency Department. There is increased demand across the country for Accident and Emergency and I apologise that you had to wait so long for a doctor. I am concerned that your pain killers did not work and that you felt our staff weren’t paying you enough attention. Please contact me via our PALS team on 01708 435 454 or email PALS@bhrhospitals.nhs.uk so I can look into this. Yours sincerely, Nadeem Moghal Medical Director

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful