"Induced labour at 42 weeks gestation"

About: East Surrey Hospital

I had planned a home water birth for the delivery of my second child however, despite my best efforts at 42 weeks there was still no sign of baby making an appearance voluntarily so I was admitted to Rusper ward for induction on the morning of 1/12/14. I was dead against a hospital birth and if I had chosen to give birth at hospital I would absolutely have chosen any other hospital than ESH due to previous experiences there. I am therefore very pleased to say that despite my reservations I had the most positive experience at East Surrey Hospital and every midwife I encountered, from those that started my induction on Rusper ward, to the midwife who delivered my daughter, to the midwives who cared for me on the postnatal ward, were truly wonderful. Kind, compassionate, patient and caring. In the end my labour was very rapid and very scary but the support and care I received was truly wonderful and I had as positive experience as I could in the circumstances, delivering my baby naturally with only gas and air as I had wished. I know ESH has a bad reputation so I felt it was important to share my positive experience. My only criticism would be the cleanliness of the postnatal ward bathrooms which could have been better. Otherwise I have absolutely no complaints! Thank you to the midwives at ESH.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Ian Mackenzie, Director of Information and Facilities, Surrey and Sussex Healthcare NHS Trust

picture of Ian Mackenzie

Dear Anonymous

Thank you for posting your positive comments about your recent birth at East Surrey Hospital. I'm sorry that you didn't have the planned home birth you had intended but I'm pleased that you felt so well looked after here.

It is though disappointing to read that you feel that we have a poor reputation and it may therefore interest you to know that in October (the most recent data available) 95% of women giving birth here would recommend the hospital. We clearly don't always provide exactly what every woman wants but we have made significant improvements in recent times and we feel this is reflected in this high recommendation level.

It is also disappointing that you felt that the post-natal ward bathrooms were unclean at times and we will look into this.

Kind regards

Ian

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from East Surrey Hospital

Dear Anonymous Thank you for posting your positive comments about your recent birth at East Surrey Hospital. I'm sorry that you didn't have the planned home birth you had intended but I'm pleased that you felt so well looked after here. It is though disappointing to read that you feel that we have a poor reputation and it may therefore interest you to know that in October (the most recent data available) 95% of women giving birth here would recommend the hospital. We clearly don't always provide exactly what every woman wants but we have made significant improvements in recent times and we feel this is reflected in this high recommendation level. It is also disappointing that you felt that the post-natal ward bathrooms were unclean at times and we will look into this. Kind regards Ian Mackenzie, Director of Information and Facilities

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful