"Appauling hospital with very few good staff."

About: Manchester Royal Infirmary

I was admitted for elective surgery at 7am and prepped for surgery due at 8:30, without warning I was switched to an afternoon slot by which time the hospital had no beds and was sending almost all patients home. At 2:30pm I was finally taken for surgery, the surgical staff were amazing but sadly as soon as I was back on the newly created short stay ward within the day case ward and the care was atrocious. I had just come round from jaw surgery and offered a sandwich! (Clearly I was very hungry but was on a puree/liquid diet so a sandwich was out of the question) I was still drowsy so figured I would have a sleep. At 8pm approx, I woke and was in quite severe pain so requested pain relief, this was never given to me. I waited and asked the night shift staff who just told me to wait. Just after 11pm and in much more pain and rather distressed I resorted to contacting my husband who had to call the ward and complain. It was only then I was provided with some pain relief and able to settle (ish) for the night. The staff from the following morning I cannot fault - surprisingly the best care I received was from a newly qualified nurse and a student nurse - I am very grateful to them for caring for me the way I had hoped. The cleanliness was disgusting, there were blood splatters on the floor, fresh blood in the toilet and then blood stains from where is had eventually been 'cleaned'. I never saw a cleaner in the 36 hours I was there, no bins were emptied. The toilet roll holder was broken and the toilet rolls provided stained with blood and left on the bins. Needless to say I will never opt to receive treatment at this hospital again if I can help it. I am honestly surprised at the complete incompetence of the place. Management have no clue whats going on and cannot organize beds as all you can overhear is the staff complaining about them and either the nursing staff are far too overworked or are just plain awful! (except for the two previously mentioned). I do not recommend this hospital and am yet to speak to another previous patient who has a good thing to say about their experience.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

We are very sorry to receive your comments and concerns via the NHS Choices / Patient Opinion website regarding your experiences in the Elective Treatment Centre. It is very difficult to be able to offer an informed explanation and respond in detail to some of the concerns you have raised without having more of your details so that we can investigate properly. However, it would always be our expectation that the reasons for any changes to your plan of care, such as the time you were taken to theatre, are explained to you at the time and must offer our apologies that this was not your experience. Similarly, we would expect pain relief to be given in as timely a manner as possible as a prolonged wait is understandably distressing. Our Facilities Management company, Sodexo, are responsible for the daily cleaning of the ward area and provision of food to the wards, although ward staff are able to contact Sodexo as an when required if additional cleaning outside the normal daily rota is required. We take all issues surrounding patient care very seriously and would very much like to hear from you directly about this. If you contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 0161 276 8686 or by e-mailing pals@cmft.nhs.uk we will be happy to discuss this with you.

The Patient Experience Team

Central Manchester University Hospitals, NHS Foundation Trust