"Xray open session"

About: Bristol Royal Infirmary

I was referred to the BRI for an xray on my hip by my GP and was told to attend an open session which runs from 9am until 4pm. As I would have to take time off work I was at the xray dept by 8.30am so I could be one of the first there. I went to reception checked in and was told I was top of the list. I went to the on site shop to get a drink and came back to the waiting room. 2hrs later and I stll had not been seen. I didnt like to complain as there were certainly people being wheeled in that needed more urgent attention, but when I asked for a time frame I was told that I wasnt checked in and that this was down to me as I should have came back to the desk after getting my drink? I was not told this, i was told i was top of the list. Needless to say what should have taken an hr took over 3. After my Xray i was told the report would be with my GP max of 10 days I made an appointment with my GP accordingly and when I arrived over 14 day s post xray I was told the BRI had record of my attendance but not report, another wasted hour still to be no further on.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Bristol Royal Infirmary

We are very sorry that the "checking-in" procedure was not made clear to you and that you subsequently had a long wait. We have shared your comments with the x-ray department as a point of learning. Without further information, we can't be sure of the reasons why your GP didn't have your report on the day that you went to see them. If you would like us to look into this this we would be very happy to do so via our Patient Support and Complaints Department (please contact 0117 342 1050 / pals@uhbristol.nhs.uk). Thank you for your feedback.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful