"Pharmacy Services"

About: Burnley General Hospital

After a long wait in the children's clinic with my 8 month old grandson we had to go to the pharmacy for a prescription - on taking the ticket we was told we had about a 20 minute wait so promptly went to the restaurant for a drink but on our return the item was still not ready - We had been at the hospital before 10am for a 10-15 appointment and at 12-15 we was still waiting , while I don't want to appear rude and not want to wait I feel with a young baby it's no fun as the baby had gone through enough having seen a doctor and was getting rather restless at this stage . We are now in 2014 so don't really think patients should be facing long delays in the pharmacy or is it that they are understaffed ?

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Burnley General Hospital

Many thanks for your feedback on your experience of our services, and thank-you for taking the time to do so. I will make sure your concerns are passed onto the team. I am very sorry to hear that your recent experience with us wasn't what you expected as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care. If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this such a poor visit for you we would really value this so that we can try to improve things for every patient visiting our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Meg Davey) on 01254 733698 or email me on Margaret.davey@elht.nhs.uk. If you would like to share your experience in confidence with an independent organisation please contact Healthwatch BwD on 01254 504985 or info@healthwatchblackburnwithdarwen.co.uk Or if you prefer you can discuss further any concerns you may have about our services with our East Lancashire Hospitals Trust Customer Relations team on 01254 733700 or complaints@elht.nhs.uk who can advise you of your options in raising these concerns further.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful