"UHND"

About: University Hospital Of North Durham

Having just come out of ward11 on the 6/11/2014 I feel that my experience there should be seen by everyone and they should give their comments on it to the hospitals Senior Management team and Trust. The reason I did not mark the satisfaction section was because it would not be fair to all the staff who work on ward 11 as it an overall review of the Hospital it self, which I could not give very good scores to. On Sunday I was brought by ambulance to A&E approx 9 pm the nursing staff were good, seen by several doctors had CT scan done one doctor saying scan was o.k. Then by another saying they looks like they is a growth in the front of your brain. I questioned him and he said you had scan a few years ago and that's the one I have looked at. The case of the left hand doesn't know what the right hand was doing. They decided I had to be admitted but had to wait for a bed. Approx 8 am the following morning was admitted to ward 3 the staff were fair. That night I was told I would be moved beds about 8pm. I moved about 9pm onto a different part of ward. After been giving a sleeping tablet about 10pm and just starting to fall asleep was woken up to be told I am being moved to ward 11. Put in a chair and was taken to ward 11 where I will give ward 11, 5* plus on the satisfaction survey. I would like thank everyone of the staff including cleaners, meal providers, auxiliary staff,nurses,ward management/ senior management and all the doctors from juniors to consultants. I have also been visiting the dermatology department for approx 5 years I also rate this department 5* plus from my experiences I have had there. Over last few years my self and family have been to this hospitals a&e dept sometimes being transferred to various wards and departments. We have had some good, fair and very poor experiences. After reading a lot of your reviews they all seem to have had similar experiences as my family and myself. On conclusion I find the trust it self is not looking at these close enough to use them to improve the hospitals performance positively. I noticed that the ward staff had just been moved to ward11. Is this why the hospital is continuously shifting things around so that every ward will get a good review eventually. Because the staff who are currently working on ward11 will get any ward number they work in a good review. I would recommend that the trust /senior management look at the performance of staff on ward 11 and in dermatology. I am sure there are other ward staff and departments staff who are just as good. Find out how they are managed how they train how they deal with problems etc. . Take all the positives from these and roll them out throughout the hospital in a training programme and I think the hospitals performance would be a lot better than it is now.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from University Hospital Of North Durham

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent experience at the University Hospital of North Durham. I am very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your experience on this occasion but are pleased to note your satisfaction with staff on Ward 11 and the Dermatology service. We will make sure your comments are passed on to Senior Managers for the wards and departments you have mentioned. We would of course welcome the opportunity to discuss your concerns with you. If you feel this would be useful please contact the Trust’s Patient Experience Team on 0800 7835774. If you would prefer to contact us by e-mail, our address is patient.experience@cddft.nhs.uk If you do decide to contact us, please make us aware that you have left comments on the NHS Choices website. The Trust is grateful for all feedback, positive or negative, as it means we can better understand what is important to our patients. Thank you for leaving your comments on NHS Choices. Patient Experience Team County Durham and Darlington NHS Foundation Trust Tel: 0800 7835774