"I cannot praise highly enough"

About: William Harvey Hospital / Trauma and orthopaedics

(as the patient),

3 weeks ago I underwent a below knee amputation on my left leg.

From day one, the care and treatment I received was second to none, and the care from the physio dept was superb.

There was just one complaint I had. There was a nurse who is the laziest most skiving person it has ever been my misfortune to come across. If there was any way the nurse could avoid their job, then they found it.

I have been a patient in the orthopaedic wards at least 7 times now, and I remember the nurse being the same on all occasions, I don't know how they get away with it. I feel the nurse tarnishes an otherwise faultless reputation.

Every time I have been a patient in this hospital ( and the occasions have been numerous ) the treatment and care I have had has been superb, I cannot praise it highly enough.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Sally Smith, Chief Nurse and Director Of Quality, East Kent Hospitals University NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am so sorry to hear about the one concern you had. I have been in contact with the Divisional Head of Nursing for Surgery, which encompasses Trauma and Orthopaedics, and she would very much like you to contact her on: heather.munro2@nhs.net. She will then look into your concerns.

Thank you for your kind feedback on your previous admissions and I do hope you are recovering well.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Update posted by firefighter (the patient)

Dear Heather

Thank you for taking the time to respond to my comments. As I said then everything was 1st class, as it has always been in the orthopaedic wards. It has always been noticeable, ever since my very first admission, that just one person seems to be letting the side down, they always manage to avoid a lot of the work, particularly the more messy aspects. I took more notice this time than ever before as I wanted to be more certain of my facts before I committed myself to making any comment.

Regards

Response from Sally Smith, Chief Nurse and Director Of Quality, East Kent Hospitals University NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you so much for again responding. Please may you email me directly on sally.smith2@nhs.net and I will ask Heather to look into this for us. Heather is away on leave until mid January and if we had the person's name the management team would be able to ensure we have appropriate working arrangements in place that would have enhanced your experience with us.

Thank you for taking the time to post positive feedback to us as well, the staff very much appreciate this.

Best regards,

Sally Smith

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful