"Not being listened to in relation to care and needs"

About: Rotherham, Doncaster and South Humber NHS Foundation Trust / Adult mental health

(as the patient),

I am a long term patient with Rotherham and Doncaster Mental Health Services who suffers from severe anxiety, depression, paranoia and OCD.

Over the past 25 years I have had numerous drug and therapeutic treatments that have not worked.

I have always tried hard with the therapy but to no avail.

The only thing that had any effect was regular appointments with a keyworker/therapist where I could clear my mind. Therefore keeping my moods and so illnesses in check.

However last year after yet another failed treatment I was informed that I was being discharged without any warning or preparation. I would now have to mainly look after myself with support from my doctor. I was not at all happy.

Im a very passive person so don't like to say anything.

For the next fw months I struggled on alone but eventually the symptoms and suffering became too much. Which led to me contacting the service again for help.

At the arranged appointment I stated that I again needed a long term arrangement with a keyworker to talk to. But the nurse said that they couldn't operate like that although she could in the short term get someone with whom I could just offload with on a short term basis.

I went along to the first meeting with the counsellor but it soon became apparent that I was being put straight back into therapy treatment. Something through past experience I have a lot of trouble believing in.

Immediately I stated I wasn't happy but just talking wouldn't get to the source of my difficulties.

Obviously after a while the therapy didn't work and I became very distressed and suicidal and brought this up.

Another type of therapy with another therapist was arranged at which I tried the hardest ever. Again unfortunately my symptoms and suffering was worse than ever. I am now openly stating that I just cant take much more.

I just feel at the moment I'm not being listened to and rules are being put before my needs, wellbeing and maybe life.

It obvious to myself and to my friends and family that my illness is more serious than the services believe and more long term community care is needed. Be that with a keyworker, social worker or charity social worker.

My health is being damaged by all of this.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from PALS Coordinator, Rotherham, Doncaster and South Humber NHS Foundation Trust

Dear Connor2

We are concerned to read that you are feeling so unwell and very sorry about the difficulties you have experienced in accessing the treatment you believe will help you with your recovery. Please be assured that we will do our utmost to support and assist you with accessing any treatment which will be of benefit to your mental health and well being.

We have spoken to the relevant mental health professional about you feeling that you can’t take much more; please be advised that there are services available – the Rethink Helpline is open 24 hours a day, seven days a week and can be contacted on Freephone 0800 519 3013. Additionally, presentation at the Accident and Emergency Department of a hospital would lead to a Crisis Team worker being contacted once a person had been seen by the emergency doctor.

If you would like us to help you further, please contact the Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) in the Patient Experience Team, based at Woodfield House (Trust Headquarters), Tickhill Road site, Tickhill Road, Balby, Doncaster, DN4 8QN. All contacts to PALS are completely confidential.

The PALS Freephone number (if calling from a landline) is 0800 015 4334 or Doncaster (01302) 796537 or email pals@rdash.nhs.uk.

We do hope that you will be contacting PALS soon.

With kind regards

Update posted by connor2 (the patient)

That sounds a little general.. How and who do I contact to discuss my concerns?

Response from PALS Coordinator, Rotherham, Doncaster and South Humber NHS Foundation Trust

Dear Connor2

Please contact the PALS Coordinator on Doncaster (01302) 796537 so that your concerns can be discussed and explored further.

With regards

Helen, PALS Coordinator

Update posted by connor2 (the patient)

Whats the point as you're not in a position to help? Only those who are senior in mental health services can help and just at the end of the day due to my experience in the past they won't. I will try once more next week with my therapist and if she refuses then that's it I've had it.

Response from PALS Coordinator, Rotherham, Doncaster and South Humber NHS Foundation Trust

Dear Connor2

I am sorry that you are feeling this way. However, I would like to reiterate that the Patient Advice and Liaison Service is able to liaise and discuss concerns with managers of mental health services and then provide feedback as appropriate. Please do not hesitate to contact me on the numbers given above if, following your conversation with your therapist, you wish to discuss your concerns further.

Kind regards

Helen, PALS Coordinator

Update posted by connor2 (the patient)

As I said before its rules before a persons life- disgusting. And all these people looking in and doing nothing.

Response from PALS Coordinator, Rotherham, Doncaster and South Humber NHS Foundation Trust

Dear Connor2

I am sorry that you feel unsupported. As stated in my previous responses, please contact PALS on either Freephone 0800 015 4334 or Doncaster (01302) 796537 or email pals@rdash.nhs.uk, so that I can discuss your concerns with you further and if you wish, make contact with the service on your behalf.

Kind regards

Helen, PALS Coordinator

Update posted by connor2 (the patient)

Feels very dissapointed at the level of understanding, compassion and care received. Depression has gotten much worse since seeking help again last year.

Response from PALS Coordinator, Rotherham, Doncaster and South Humber NHS Foundation Trust

Dear Connor2

I am very sorry that you still remain dissatisfied but we are unable to help further without you contacting either the service directly or the PALS team on 0800 015 4334 as we do not have any personal details from Patient Opinion that we can act on. If you would like to contact us, we will do our best to assist you.

With kind regards