"consultant made me feel like a piece of dirt"

About: Queen's Hospital (Romford)

Gynacologist behaved appallingly. I was greeted with "why are you here?" Promptly informed that I had to choose my own treatment as he couldn't advise me and was handed a leaflet. He strongly implied that my pain is imaginary: "Half of women have your condition (fibroids) and they are not complaining" He spoke to me as though I were a child. I left the room crying, opting for major surgery as I feel I have no other option. A vile hideous experience. Thankfully the nurse sensed my distress and took me outside. Never ever again will I see that man. I am contacting the PALS department to register my complaint.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Queen's Hospital

Thank you for commenting on NHS Choices. I can only apologise that you felt so upset at the way you were treated when you visited Queen’s Hospital. The way you were spoken to is not acceptable, all our staff should be respectful and understanding at all times and I am really concerned about your experience. I would urge you to contact our PALS department so I can investigate, as you mention in your comment. You can call them on 01708 435 454 or email them at PALS@bhrhospitals.nhs.uk. Yours sincerely, Stephen Burgess Medical Director

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful