"avoid at all costs - go to a proper hospital"

About: Holly House Hospital

like a previous post there is little information about when you book at holly house on how limited the services are - it's fast, but they will not see anything out of the norm. My son had seen a consultant there for a routine appointment and was referred back under NHS choices, so i booked - it's the closest to us. Unfortunately for a variety of reasons my son has had some mental health issues - all stable now. however despite this - a routine appointment for an MRI - he was refused treatment at holly house. The reason - no psychiartric unit there , didn't know if there would be an issue if he had an operation with anaesthetic, only have single rooms. all very weak and discriminatory. if you ask me the NHS should be investing money in it's own services rather than wasting money on booking through independent hospitals. and when I asked if that meant that anyone on anti depressants wouldn't be treated there the answer was " well we'd see, we'd have to review the circumstances - on pushing the answer was no - we won't take people with mental health issues pretty much. Come on NHS - use inclusive hospitals - not these jokers

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Holly House Hospital

We are committed to providing the very best possible patient experience and are disappointed that we have not met your expectations on this occasion. We will look into the concerns you have raised but unfortunately as you have provided anonymous feedback we will be unable to let you know the outcome of our investigation. Please do not hesitate to contact the Hospital Director/Clinic Manager if you wish a response.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Patient Experience Manager, NHS West Essex CCG

Hi there,

I was very sorry to read of the experience both you and your son had at Holly House Hospital. If you would like to speak with me to take your concerns forward, please contact me on 01992 566122 or via email weccg.comments@nhs.net.

I look forward to hearing from you.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful