"no explanation about wait"

About: Royal Derby Hospital / Trauma and orthopaedics

(as the patient),

I have been waiting for an appointment to see a surgeon for about four weeks and the appointment was set for 8. 30am this week. I arrived in plenty of time and sat waiting, and waiting, and waiting...... now the fact I'm seeing a spinal surgeon would tell you that it hurts to sit down, so by this time I was in an awful amount of pain. At 9am the nurses phoned the secretary to find out where the doctor was, but they didn't phone back so they had to phone again at 9. 15 and I was told that the doctor wasn't coming to do the clinic today, no explaination as to why.

I was livid, but another doctor had room as one of his patients hadn't turned up so agreed to see me to save me having to come back.

The nurses told me that the doctors secretary should be coming down to explain to me why the doctorhadn't turned up, but they didn't know when she would turn up and they didn't want me to wait around any longer as they where concerned I was in pain.

I was furious that this happened, the nurses where brilliant and so was the other consultant, but I would never go to see this doctor ever again - Not that saw him in the first place.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Patient Experience Team, Patient Experience Team, Derby Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. I must sincerely apologise that you had to wait and did not receive an explanation as to why your surgeon had not attended for clinic - you should certainly have been informed. If you would like me to look into the reasons why this happened and provide a full response back to you, please could you email your name, date of birth and the date you attended (I note it was this week some time, but without the exact date I would be unable to check the circumstances) to dhft.patientexperience@nhs.net. Once again, on behalf of Derby Hospitals, I must sincerely apologise that your experience was not of the high standard we strive to achieve.

Kindest regards

Response from Royal Derby Hospital

Thank you for feedback regarding your experience. However, we would like to inform you your comments were posted on the Patient Opinion Website in December 2014 and to we responded at that time. Please see below our response: Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We must sincerely apologise that you had to wait and did not receive an explanation as to why your surgeon had not attended for clinic - you should certainly have been informed. If you would like us to look into the reasons why this happened and provide a full response back to you, please could you email your name, date of birth and the date you attended (We note it was this week some time, but without the exact date we would be unable to check the circumstances) to dhft.patientexperience@nhs.net. Once again, on behalf of Derby Hospitals, we must sincerely apologise that your experience was not of the high standard we strive to achieve. Kindest regards Patient Experience Team Derby Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful