"I didn't receive a follow up appointment"

About: Chesterfield Royal Hospital / Gynaecology Derbyshire and Nottinghamshire

(as the patient),

In mid September I had a procedure at Chesterfield Royal Hospital under the Gynecology Dept. quite a run of the mill hernia. In hospital I was looked after & plenty of info for the 2 days I was in & I was told I would get a 4 week follow up appointment. When I came out I had 4 weeks off work, no follow up appointment came, so I rang & an appointment was made the beginning of December.

Last week my stitches which had not dissolved started to stick in me & cause bleeding, I rang Gyne Dept & was told to get in touch with my GP, GP said they couldn't do anything about internal stitches, so where did that leave me, GP receptionist rang Gyne Dept. & was told by the same rude person that they must sort it out for me which they very kindly took the stitch out which was causing me the problem. I know it's only a minor complaint but if I had the 4 week appointment as told this upset would not have arisen.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Toby Perkins, Toby Perkins' Office, MP for Chesterfield

I am the MP for Chesterfield. I was sorry to read your experience. I'm happy to help investigate or feedback any areas that our Hospital can improve. If you want to contact my office or if anyone else does, they can call us on 01246 386286.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Chesterfield Royal Hospital

I'm really concerned to read that you didn't receive a follow-up and that your enquiries do not appear to have been dealt with correctly. This is really disappointing and I'd like to pass on my apologies. If you have time to call our complaints and assistance service we'd like to get to the bottom of why your post operative care wasn't followed up properly and importantly to make sure that you don't need to come in and see a clinician for a check up. The number is 01246 512640 and is open Monday to Friday, 9am-4pm. I'm sorry your experience has been so disappointing Sarah Turner-Saint, head of communications

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful