"Nurses In A&E"

About: Berwick Infirmary

Due to a condition which affects my joints and makes it easier for me to hurt myself, unfortunately I have had my fair share of trips to A&E, unfortunately I do not feel comfortable going to Berwick Infirmary A&E as staff are disrespectful and don't take me seriously on a number of occasions after visiting the hospital I have then had to go to my GP as the nurses only ever say I have sprained or bruised my limb, when on three occasions I have left the hospital with stretched and torn ligaments in both my ankle and knee, therefore delaying my recovery, I generally travel to another close A&E for treatment now, so that I don't have to feel embarrassed or undermined because I have injured myself.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Berwick Infirmary

Dear Sir/Madam, I am so sorry that you have lost confidence in the service as a result of your recent visits to Berwick Infirmary. I know the staff usually feel proud of the care that they offer and so will be very saddened by the fact that you left feeling disrespected and that your concerns were not listened to. I am very sure they will be keen to investigate the care you have received further. This will enable us to act quickly and respond to any issues in the way that we would like to. If you feel this would be helpful to you, please contact me at Annie.laverty@northumbria-healthcare.nhs.uk Best wishes and thank you, Annie

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful