"Outpatients visit"

About: North Tyneside General Hospital

I visited North Tyneside General 03/11/2014 4.30pm. To save going by ambulance my husband took me by car. When we arrived we requested a wheelchair as my walking is very limited, the porter at the front desk said to us "all the chairs were in use", didn't attempt to go look for one, and said "oh its not far to walk its just down there" didn't ask how far I could walk. (I was walking with the aid of my husband and a walking stick.) If I had gone by ambulance I would have been taken to the department. There are never enough wheelchairs for people that really need them. consequently I am now suffering today and can hardly move with pain. Please north Tyneside general get your act together and supply more chairs for those who need them. Also get your porters trained to consider the patients needs. I hope on my next visit I do not have this problem. Disappointed and Annoyed.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from North Tyneside General Hospital

Dear Madam, I am so sorry that you had a poor experience on arrival at North Tyneside and particularly that you are experiencing a great deal of discomfort as a result. It is really disappointing to hear that you did not receive the help and assistance I would have expected from one our porters.I have shared your feedback with the manager of the portering service so that she is able to discuss your experience with the team. She has also asked me for a little more detail to help her investigate the difficulties you experienced getting a wheelchair. I wonder if you would be kind enough to email directly at Joanne.mackintosh@northumbria-healthcare.nhs.uk Many thanks, Jo

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful