"Mixed feelings depending on ward."

About: Royal Cornwall Hospital (Treliske)

In February, i had severe abdomen pain - my first issue was getting into hospital with the SERCO doctor wrongly diagnosing this as an urine infection every time i rang 999 for an ambulance they just went along with this diagnosis and left me in agony for an entire night, ignoring the fact that the pain was getting worse and i had never experienced anything like this. The next morning I convinced a paramedic to take me in who got an ambulance out, once in there they immediately noticed that my blood pressure was extremely low. After a couple of days of testing doctors were not sure what was wrong with me, and i was given a variety of diagnosis including liver disease. Then the pain developed further one evening and we were told the consultant wouldn't be around till morning. To my luck the consultant did appear and recognised something was wrong, i was taken in for emergency surgery to have a camera inserted key hole to see what was going on. Shockingly, i woke up stitched all the way down my stomach from the top of my ribs to the bottom of my abdomen - ruptured ovarian cyst had caused 2 litres of internal bleeding into abdomen! i was then taken to St Mawes on a morphine machine - staff were lovely here considering I had little idea of much due to morphine, which also made me very itchy and uncomfortable they responded to my needs and concerns exceptionally. Unfortunately, I was then transferred to Pendennis ward, the staff here were very unwelcoming, as soon as i arrived, one nurse demanded I immediately get up and start walking around with no consideration of my fear or pain and that she should take away the morphine machine, when the doctors came and i attempted to discuss this with them she even stood the other side of the curtain listening and butting in if I said something she didn't like, she proceeded to walk around most of the time with a top on saying not to talk to her because she had the drug trolley. Eventually, I was able to talk to the pain nurse who explained she was going to take me off the morphine machine that night and increase the drugs prescribed instead, however when that night came another nurse appeared and when i attempted to explain this to her, she told me I would be in agony if i came off the machine and they would not do this. Obviously this created confusion and upset on my part and when I tried to explain this they just seemed to get angry with me for not agreeing with them all. I then got limited sleep with very noisy, giggly staff working through the night, and a man from the next ward constantly calling for help. The next morning the previous 'don't talk to me' nurse appeared and declared she was taking the machine away and they should have done it the previous night. Feeling fed up, emotional and frustrated she then proceeded to tell me I would be moving to Tolgus ward that day (where staff were lovely) and that it wouldn't be as nice or comfy up there for me or my guests.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Cornwall Hospital (Treliske)

We are sorry that you were unhappy with some aspects of your care. We would always encourage patients or relatives to raise concerns at the time so that we can put things right and will pass your comments onto the team concerned. If you would like a detailed response to any issue you have raised, please contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Team - pals.service@rcht.cornwall.nhs.uk