"Bed management and communication"

About: The Tunbridge Wells Hospital

While my epileptic son received great medical treatment by great doctors and nurses after having about 20 or so seizures, he was left in a cubicle waiting for a bed for about 3 to 4 hours,which agitated and stressed my him, and stress can be a trigger of seizures. Scant communication and a tetchy response when enquiring about the bed added to our worry and frustration. I understand the pressures on the NHS but surely settling my exhausted son should have been a priority. I must reiterate our immediate medical care was very professional with communicative staff who listened to us about the routine of our quite regular visits, which they quickly checked on your system and then carried them out to the letter. But considering our sons condition, he should have been settled down much sooner. Something I must mention is, as we pulled into the A&E forecourt with my son fitting in the car, I approached a male doctor who was standing at the parking ticket machine at the entrance to A&E, I asked for his help as my wife was holding onto my son to stop him hurting himself while having a seizure, the doctor waved me away telling me to "go to reception" When I pleaded with him to come to my car, which was a few steps away, he again abruptly told me to "go to reception",as far as I can remember these 3 words were all he said to me, I seriously insist this doctor should be spoken to. He didn't even look at me, I found him cold,uncaring ,unprofessional and completely unhelpful. If you need a description of this Dr I will be willing to assist. I think it's imperative that Drs, who are mostly held in high regard, should work to the highest standards. Do no harm, is one of their professions mantra, not do nothing! I have little regard for this Dr, only for the fact that he must have at one point been a great help to people, but not to me. I assure you this is the only time i have ever complained to your or any other Hospital and we've been to many hospitals in over 10 years of my sons illness. I eagerly await your response.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from The Tunbridge Wells Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent experience of the Accident and Emergency Department at Tunbridge Wells Hospital. We were pleased to learn that your son received a high standard of care and treatment in the department, but note your comments regarding the time taken to settle him following initial treatment. Please be assured that we have passed this feedback on to the senior staff within the department to highlight this issue. We were very disappointed to learn of the poor response you received from a member of staff when you arrived at the hospital. Should you wish to discuss this or any other aspect of your visit to the hospital in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact the Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 01892 632953 or email mtwpals@nhs.net, where a member of staff will be happy to help. Kind regards, The PALS Team.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful