"procedure cancellation for a baha implant (ENT)"

About: Furness General Hospital

just a few lines about the way I was treated I was due to go for a procedure on the 29th of October but around the 21st of October ENT also phoned me and told me that there was a place for my operation for a BaHa implant on the 28th of October and was I available. After some thought I decided to rearrange the procedure I was originally going to go for and opted for the BaHa implant operation instead. My letter dually arrived confirming the date and time. Then on the 23rd or 24th of October they phoned me to change the time of my operation at which point I was concerned as the time of admission was 3 p,m I asked them to confirm that the operation would go ahead and they said yes! Then on 27th of October they phone and told me that it was cancelled I was totally disgusted! when I questioned the lady on the phone she told me that the consultant had asked for me to be removed from the list! No explanation just remove me from the list. If there had been an emergency on the day of my operation I could have understood but this was not the case! I am very disappointed with the ENT consultant he could at the very least have given a reason for the cancelation!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Furness General Hospital

We are very concerned by the issue you have raised and would welcome the opportunity to investigate this further. Please could you contact our Patient Relations team on 01539 795497 so we can carry out this work and respond directly to you.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful