"Disgraceful treatment - Ward 31"

About: Darlington Memorial Hospital

I was admitted to hospital having to call out an ambulance for excruciating pain in my lower back. I was admitted to ward 31 where blood and urine samples were taken. I was then discharged three days later although was still suffering extreme pain, was told I had a urine infection, no meds given to take home. I went back to my GP the following day. My GP sent me straight back to hospital with a letter to give the staff on ward 31. Again I was admitted, kept in for two days then discharged, no tests or medication given. Within two hours of me being home I had to call the out of hours GP. I was given a diclofen injection and sent home. A third visit to my GP caused him to telephone DMH. My GP asked for a CT scan to be carried out as he suspected renal colic. Renal colic was then diagnosed and was admitted to hospital and given appropriate pain relief. During my stay on ward 31 some of the staff were very rude,unhelpful, unprofessional and reduced me to tears on several occasions. I couldn't wait to be discharged, I was considering discharging myself after family and friends witnessed the above and handed in a formal complaint with the ward manager. I now suffer with severe anxiety when I have to visit hospitals. I was terrified on my final visit to DMH when I had a stent removed in surgery, so much so by 7pm I was discharged as I could not stay in another night on this particular ward. It was almost two years ago these incidents happened, I do hope that DMH have had a shake up on this ward as I hear so many horror stories about 31.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Darlington Memorial Hospital

Thank you for providing feedback on your visit to ward 31 at Darlington Memorial hospital. I am very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your experiences on these occasions. We would welcome the opportunity to discuss your concerns with you. If you feel this would be useful please contact the Trust’s Patient Experience Team on 0800 7835774. If you would prefer to contact us by e-mail, our address is patient.experience@cddft.nhs.uk If you do decide to contact us, please make us aware that you have left comments on the NHS Choices website. The Trust is grateful for all feedback, positive or negative, as it means we can better understand what is important to our patients. Thank you for leaving your comments on NHS Choices. Patient Experience Team County Durham and Darlington NHS Foundation Trust Tel: 0800 7835774

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful