"Poole maternity are rubbish."

About: Poole General Hospital

In july 2013 I was diagnosed with Endometriosis after 22 years of pain misery and being fobbed off. My second op was in dec 13 and by some miracle I fell pregnant. I had a 6 week scan and at my midwife appointment at 8 weeks she advised me I would need an extra scan as I had explained I was suffering pain. She told me to ring the self refferal line which I did on april 7th 2014. I explained my situation and what te midwife had said and was told I didnt need a scan. I explained about the pain and was told I would only get a scan at 3 months. I argued my case for a while and then contacted my midwife who said she would contact the unit. I heard nothing until thurs 10th when my midwife called and said that she had mixed up my dates. I explained again about the pain and she said I would hear back. I tried to self refer again and again was made tofeel like a silly woman. I finally got my scan date bk for tues 29th april. Guess what my baby had died at 8 weeks. I was ushered into a back room, offered tea twice which never came then got ushered out of the side door. I am heartbroken that I was carrying my dead baby around for a month when if I had been listened to the ordeal would have been over weeks before. But I was made to feel like a silly little woman. If I ever manage to have a baby iwill be going to Dorchester. I am disgusted at the way I was treated and am going to Pals. The place is also dirty. Horrible experience.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Poole General Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this feedback. We are very sorry to hear about your experience, and would urge you to get in touch with our PALS team directly on 01202 448499, so that we can talk to you directly about the issues you have raised. Kind regards Maria Bennett, Patient Experience Facilitator

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful