"Daughters broken wrist "

About: Crosshouse Hospital / Physiotherapy Crosshouse Hospital / Trauma & orthopaedics

(as a parent/guardian),

My daughter broke her wrist a few weeks ago and they put it in plaster at the Crosshouse Hospital.

Today she had the plaster taken off, again at the Crosshouse Hospital, the nurse seemed in a hurry to be off for the weekend. The wrist is still swollen and painful, all she said to my daughter was that she would need to persevere with it and that she would get a referral letter for physiotherapy.

We thought the swelling would have come down by now, as well as the pain, but neither have come down.

I’ve advised my daughter to go to Ayr hospital later to have it looked at again.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Eunice Goodwin, Patient Feedback Manager for NHS Ayrshire and Arran, Quality Improvement and Governance Team, NHS Ayrshire and Arran

picture of Eunice Goodwin

Dear Quote952,

I am vexed to hear that you were left feeling rushed and not informed over your daughter's care. I say this often, a lot of distress is caused by lack of, or poor communication. If this is normal for this point in the healing process and you had been given reassurance to that effective that this it would have prevented you feeling that another hospital visit was necessary.

I wonder if your daughter did attend Ayr and if so, what advice was given there.

I will pass this to the Senior Manager of the service for their consideration.

I do hope your daughter’s wrist is healing well and she has a Physiotherapy appointment.

Kind regards


  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from NHS Ayrshire and Arran

Dear Quote952,

I am sorry to hear you went away from the hospital unhappy with your experience. If you feel it would be helpful to contact me to discuss this, I would welcome the opportunity.

To speak to me, please phone 01563 521133 and ask the switchboard to bleep me, Marianne Wilson, Charge Nurse for Out Patients. I must mention that this bleep is not carried at all times. The best time to call may be Monday to Thursday (working hours). I hope that is suitable for you.

Kind regards

Marianne Wilson

Charge Nurse, Out Patient Department

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful