"day case ward"

About: Kettering General Hospital / General surgery

(as the patient),

dreading being admitted due to all the bad reports on the whole not as bad as I had expected staff were friendly and efficient the only downside is that your relative is not allowed to remain with you whilst waiting to go to theatre after all there may not be room on the ward but once you have been allocated your bed the waiting room is empty so once you have had your obs done you could wait in there My pr_op was a joke no mrsa swabs taken (this should be standard practice) even though it was a very short anaesthetic no ecg this again I have been informed should be standard practice with anyone over the age of 60. also my arm was left very bruised after the canula was inserted by the anaesthetist this does not normally happen to me on the whole better than expected but would not choose this hospital unfortunately no choice given for dental procedures

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Kettering General Hospital

Thank you for your feedback regarding your care and treatment at Kettering General Hospital NHS Foundation Trust. We are pleased to hear you found our staff efficient and friendly. We unfortunately do not encourage relatives to wait with you prior to surgery due to the space on our Day Case Unit. The relatives room is often extremely busy as we have patients arriving at different times. It is also an area we utilise as a waiting room for procedures that do not require a trolley space. We do however encourage relatives to wait if they are concerned downstairs in our treatment centre coffee shop. I apologise that this option was not offered to you. MRSA screening is standard practice at KGH and is governed by a protocol. However, dental procedures are excluded from routine screening and are screened on an individual basis set against a specific criteria. We follow the guidance by NICE (CG3); Pre-operative Tests; The use of routine preoperative tests for elective surgery - https://www.nice.org.uk/guidance/cg3/resources/guidance-preoperative-tests-pdf. Which states that ECG's should be recorded for patients with documented cardiovascular disease and those patients who are considered to have certain specific co-morbidities. Every patient over the age of 80 years of age is recommended to have an ECG routinely and each pre-op patient is assessed on an individual basis. We can only apologise for the bruising caused during the insertion of your cannula, our anaesthetist are highly trained and skilled at cannula insertion but unfortunately bruising can occur. We hope you are recovering well. Carole Speirs Jennie Lovell Jo Milton Pre-op Assessment Matron Infection Control Nurse Surgery Lead Nurse

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful