"Appendisectomy ward 8x"

About: The Royal Liverpool University Hospital

I would like to thank me rarety my surgeon for an excellent job on my appendisectomy and the team he works with however was not very satisfied with the care given on ward 8x the majority of nurses were lovely and we'll trained but I had one nurse who was very arrogant when asked did I want analgesia I was in pain so said yes when told it was morphine I said no as it is to strong for me she replied well we will just waste it then and walked off. Also the junior doctors don't have a clue what they are doing when catheterised due to retention postop It was very uncomfortable they told me I needed to leave it in until my consultant came round I was in alot of pain the doctors on the ward do nothing until your consultant comes round no pain relief nothing that is there job to prescribe it but they only do it when your consultants there. Nurses and consultant 5* rating but junior doctors a 2* rating

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from The Royal Liverpool University Hospital

Thank you for your kind comments about the consultant and nurses involved in your care at the Royal. We will pass this on to the team. However, we were concerned to hear you were unhappy with the junior doctors. If you wish to discuss this further or make a complaint our Patient Advice and Liaison Service can help you. They can be contacted by emailing pals@rlbuht.nhs.uk or by calling 0151 706 4903/2265, or via typetalk 18001 0151 706 4903/2265. Best wishes.