"Awful, the hospital doesn't understand the word..."

About: Stoke Mandeville Hospital

No care, nurses don't acknowledge you, make contact or discuss with you how patients are doing. My dad has dementia so he can't tell us. He had now caught a hospital bug, wasn't showered for over 5 days and was only showered after I complained. Wasn't ever dressed, shaved and I can't eat on his own so I don't believe he is being fed. When I asked for a record of his weight guess what it wasn't recorded. It was however then written down on the day I rang! Nurse couldn't explain what was wrong as "my English is not good enough".

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Anthony Banton, Patient Experience Manager, Buckinghamshire Healthcare NHS Trust

Dear responder

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry to learn that on this occasion our services have not met the standard that we would expect.

You have raised a number of important matters and I would like to ensure you have an opportunity to take your concerns forward.

Please contact the PALS team on pals@buckshealthcare.nhs.uk to take your concerns forward.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful