"Denied visiting"

About: Scunthorpe General Hospital

I'm just leaving a comment to say: I'm appalled in regards to my experience this morning at SGH. I went to visit my sister this morning on the delivery suit, with my mum! I had to wait outside the ward doors, as was refused entry to see my new-born nephew! The midwife on duty would only let my mum on the ward or a birthing partner! Even if my mum came out, she still would not allow me in! Despite my sister been consenting for me to visit! I had to get a lift home, whilst my mum to stayed! I can honestly say, as a nursing working in the NHS this is not good! Scunthorpe General Hospital, you have failed the family and friends test from me! The rules are like something from the dark ages! Also the ward has no signs displayed outside the doors, stipulating the above!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Scunthorpe General Hospital

Hello Sarah, I appreciate this must have been very disappointing. Unfortunately we have no visiting on the delivery suite due to the nature of the environment (except birth partners). This is usually spoken about in pregnancy so patients should be aware, however there are no signs outside the suite to make this clear to visitors which is something we can look at. Kind regards, Sarah Mainprize

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful