"Day spent in Angio Suite"

About: East Surrey Hospital

May I preface my remarks by saying all staff-cleaners,nursing assistants and doctors were excellent. I attended as requested at 8am, given a bed and necessary clerking was carried out. One hour later I was politely asked if I would give up my bed and move to an armchair. This was perfectly understandable in a very small ward. Unfortunately I was still in this chair 5-6hours later before I was taken to theatre. Unless asked no one explained why I was there so long and certainly given no indication as to when my procedure would start. For the first hour I was sat facing three elderly ladies and I finally asked for my chair to be moved because I thought they were embarrassed with a male patient sitting so close. The staff happily did this but had to move several pieces of furniture,including a large photocopying machine. Sitting in an armchair for nearly six hours, without food and water, is extremely boring but it would have been more bearable if I was given a regular update on what was happening and how long I would remain waiting. Lack of communication!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Tasha Gardner, Communications Manager, Marketing and Communications, Surrey and Sussex Healthcare NHS Trust

Dear Brian

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I can imagine your boredom and frustration with the wait and lack of information. Keeping patients informed is important for everyone at the Trust and when we do not get it right it is good to be told. I will make sure your comments are passed on to the team in the Angio Suite so we can try and avoid this situation happening again.

kind regards

Tasha

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from East Surrey Hospital

Dear Brian Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I can imagine your boredom and frustration with the wait and lack of information. Keeping patients informed is important for everyone at the Trust and when we do not get it right it is good to be told. I will make sure your comments are passed on to the team in the Angio Suite so we can try and avoid this situation happening again. kind regards Tasha Gardner Communications Manager Surrey and Sussex Healthcare NHS trust

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful