"Awful staff."

About: The Royal Victoria Infirmary

I was admitted to hospital quickly and unexpectedly after thinking I was just picking up some medication, I am just a 19 year old female student and have never been in a situation as overwhelming, with all my family far away. There was no communication between staff and myself, nurses wandered up and took observations and tests then left, and multiple doctors repeated the same information each time with no results. Whilst staying in the assessment suite i was ignored by staff. I was never offered dinner or breakfast yet could see other elderly members being offered, and between 7am and 12pm not one nurse spoke to me other than to ask my height and weight, and when spoken to she replied simple answers and seemed strained to do even that. Just because I am younger and was not physically ill or incapable it seemed I was not treated as a patient as others even though I was very scared, vulnerable and anxious. She was rude, incompetent and seemed to only talk to doctors. If i ever do get ill again, I would rather travel 4 hours home than revisit the RVI

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from The Royal Victoria Infirmary

Thank you for taking the time taken to leave your feedback on our services. I am sorry to learn of your poor experience when you were admitted urgently and that you were so dissatisfied with the service provided. In order to more fully address your concerns, and learn from your experience, I would like to investigate these further, and would welcome the opportunity to discuss these with you. It would be helpful if you would be willing to contact me in person: Angela McNab, Emergency Care Matron on 0191 2829927.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful