"Fantastic treatment"

About: Southampton General Hospital

My second admission to this hospital was via GP referral and from the moment my GP picked up the phone and made the referral to the day of discharge I honestly felt my care couldn't have been better managed. I *know I must've been a difficult patient because there were times when I thought staff were fussing unnecessarily however, after ending up in HDU (something I protested about too) I realise that I was actually quite poorly and how lucky I was to have had such a dedicated team. All the staff were friendly and professional however I'd like to make special mention to the physiotherapists who really did make such a huge difference. My only gripe is that the staff appeared to be either too busy or maybe not confident enough to address the issue of noisy visitors up till 10.00 on the ward. I became quite distressed by one set of visitors and this was not conducive to recovery.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Southampton General Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind comments about the care you received from the respiratory medicine team and physiotherapists whilst you were in hospital and hope that you are now fully recovered. We will ensure that this is shared with the team who will appreciate it. We have also noted your comments about the noisy visitors and are sorry that you were disturbed by them and that this was no addressed by staff at the time.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful