"Disgrace - avoid,"

About: Queen's Hospital (Romford)

My daughter is currently in the antenatal ward, she was told she was going to be induced,(an I use this word vey lightly) yesterday. she is on c;lexaine because of her blood. She went in at 09:00 on 04.08.14, she was given as tablet, not to induce but just to soften the cervix, so that they could break the waters- she was given the first one at 11:30 yesterday morning, At 4.45 pm she was put on a monitor to see how the baby's heart rate was, the baby do9es not like thing on her belly and moves whenever this happens which results in the heart rate not being recorded properly. The midwife decided that despite being told by all of there present that the heart rate had not dropped, but baby moved decided that she was call a DR... there was no DR prepared to come and see my daughter, no obstetrician in the whole hospital either. It took almost three hours and countless phones to get a DR who was not an obstetrician to come and very very huffily look at the monitor, only to tell the midwife who was lovely but whose understanding of English was not good that there was nothing wrong. At 8.30 PM she was taken off and was told that she would not need another tablet and would be taken to the labour ward. The time is now 16:08 on 05.08.14 and she is still on the labour ward, she has had next to no sleep, nor has her husband - she came off of nights yesterday morning and has had the total of 5 hours sleep 2 of those include being on a ward with a bright light being on because the switch is broke and cannot be turned off. She has not had any clexaine since Sunday 03.08.14 this is not good for my daughter or her unborn child.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Queen's Hospital

Thank you for raising your concerns. I understand that as soon as we became aware of these issues, the Consultant Midwife met with you and your daughter and following this discussion it became apparent that we had not communicated effectively with your daughter about the induction of labour and the length of time this process can take and a personal apology was given to you. You were reassured that there is an Obstetrician available 24hours a day. We are constantly monitoring the care we give to our women and discussing care with them to understand the areas we need to continue to improve. The Matron and Consultant Midwife are leading sessions with staff to improve communication and customer care to mother’s, babies and their families. Thank you for comments which are a valuable insight on we can continue to build on our significant progress that has been made over the last two years. Yours sincerely Flo Panel-Coates Chief Nurse

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful