"Bad handling with patients"

About: Queen's Hospital (Romford)

I had went to hospital yesterday because I had cut open my foot. I waited 3 hours before I was seen by a doctor. I was seen by the doctor and I had to have stitches the procedure or aftercare was not explained to me. When I was in the second waiting area by the minors department I was approached by a nurse who didn't ask my name and starting taking my blood pressure she started talking about my urine I realised then She didn't have the right patient. I explained to her I'm not that patient, then she said what's your name then went to the patient next to me. I noticed at this point that everyone doctor or nurse was very rude not polite and very unhappy. I understand your in a very hard job but a smile wouldn't hurt especially if your dealing with unhappy patients. I was waiting for my injection as I have been wounded and I was told it was routine to have it. The same nurse approached me and wanted to give me my injection, when I got home I went into a panic because I realised she didn't wash her hands didn't clean the area of my skin or didn't use gloves. At the time in hospital I had put my trust into this nurse and them things did not cross my mind. I am very upset with this service and I don't feel confident that I was properly taken care of. I will take this matter further as I am not happy with the general cleanness of this nurse who is touching 1000s of patients and didn't wash her hands before touching me I feel very sick inside and not happy.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Queen's Hospital

Thank you for commenting on NHS Choices. I am very sorry to hear you were not happy with your experience when you visited A&E at Queen’s Hospital. I’m concerned about some of the issues you have raised, and to be able to investigate this further I will need more information. Please contact me via our PALS team on 01708 435 454 or email PALS@bhrhospitals.nhs.uk. Yours sincerely Stephen Burgess Medical Director

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful