"birth of son"

About: Southmead Hospital

The minute i was at the hospital i thought my care was poor, i was left in the corridor in a wheel chair when i was 7 cm because they didn't know i was coming. when we had phoned ahead twice. once my son was born whilst i was waiting for my stitches i was left very undignified with my legs wide open and the door wide open, with visitors walking past. i had to wait a good hour for my stitches to be done because they were so under staffed. during the night i had no care at all.. no one came to check on me at all. in the morning i was forgotten for breakfast, i had to remind them that i hadn't had anything to eat and drink...and this was at nearly 10 o'clock am. im a first time mum and didnt know how long my son was meant to go between feeds, and i was made to feel very wrong and that i was doing it wrong. when it was time for me top leave i was not given any bounty pack, i was told i could not wash him for 48 hours so me and my partner took him home still with blood on him.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Southmead Hospital

Dear Amber, Thank you for your comments and for advising us of what a poor experience you had, clearly this is not acceptable and we offer our sincere apologies that you had such an awful time at what should have been a very joyous time for you. If you would like to contact us at Complaints@nbt.nhs.uk with a few more details about you personally, I know that the staff within the maternity unit would wish to meet with you to discuss your concerns in more detail as this is not the experience they would wish any mother to have had.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful