"Complete waste of time"

About: Stepping Hill Hospital

Having been to A and E four times in two weeks with excruciating pain in shoulder and down my left arm which is causing numbness and despite having been taken to the hospital as an emergency by ambulance, I was left in the waiting room to be seen on average about 4 hours. When I was finally seen, I was examined and subsequently sent home with painkillers (I must add different painkillers after each visit), none of which worked. On the last occasion I was given a sling and some morphine and sent home. What an utter waste of time. I suggested having a scan to find out what the problem was and all they said was go to my own GP. I am still in pain and getting nowhere. How is it in this day and age people are left in agony? I thought hospitals were there to help.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Cath Marsland, Head of Risk and Patient and Customer Services, Stockport NHS Foundation Trust

I am sorry to read of your difficulties, if you have not been able to resolve them please contact the patient and customer services department and we can try to assist.

0161 419 5678

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful