"Feel let down by delayed diagnosis from CAMHS Sussex Partnership NHS Trust"

About: Sussex Partnership NHS Foundation Trust / Child and adolescent mental health care (community)

(as a parent/guardian),

Well, even though I am well aware that the Government is conducting a Parliamentary Select Committee Inquiry into the UK-wide CAMHS failings, that still doesn't excuse our local one. They failed to diagnose my daughter's autistic condition (shouldn't really have been surprised because adult services failed to diagnose mine too and I got diagnosed privately) and I had to push for a 2nd opinion during which she was diagnosed. I feel that they do not know how to engage children and have no understanding of autism as a spectrum condition.

I feel that they failed to support my other child for severe anxiety, despite an urgent referral from the paediatrician and I have had to source private assessment and support so she is finally getting what she needs after two years.

Complaining to PALS was no use. They sent our complaint to the people we were complaining about and they came back with all sorts of ridiculous politician-style replies, which don't even get the facts right but are defensive and clearly not willing to admit mistakes. I feel that they are complaints services in name only and the only types of complaint that will get upheld are when you have secret video or recording evidence or some other incontrovertible proof that they cannot get around.

I feel that this service is toxic and they are unfit for purpose, and they have left vulnerable children unsupported, whilst still finding the time and the resources to attend meetings and indulge in correspondence with other professionals. I felt that they showed zero respect and were suspicious of me as a parent.

The amount of higher functioning autistic children out there without a diagnosis must be significant. And it's the high-functioning amongst us that are the worst off because of self-awareness, lack of support and ensuing difficulties.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Sussex Partnership NHS Foundation Trust

Due to the nature of your story, we are aware that your complaints are going through formal channels. We are sorry that you remain dissatisfied, we feel we have tried to engage with you in an open and transparent manner. We are aware that you have also raised your concerns with the Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman and will provide them with any information they request in order to independently review your complaint. In view of the seriousness of these matters we don’t feel its appropriate to engage with you in any detail on this website.

  • anonymousperson doesn't think this response is helpful
    {{helpful}} of {{totalOthers()}} other people think it is helpful