"I gave birth in St Georges, and ..."

About: St George's Hospital (Tooting) (London)

(as the patient),

What I liked

I gave birth in St Georges, and the level of service was rubbish. I guess the staff at the maternity ward see it all the time so its nothing major to them.

But as a first time mum i needed reassurance, me and my husband was always left alone to wait. When the time got nearer and they gave me a room, i had to leave the one i was already quite comfortable in to go into another.

I was given the mouthpiece to the gas tank and it had blood on it which the nurse thought it was totally acceptable to give to me even though its not even my blood and until my husband demanded a new piece.

The nurse who gave me my second dose of pethidine more or less stabbed me with the injection because it hurt so much! And im not afraid of needles and i dont find those painful but what she did was just unthoughtful.

After giving birth, a consultant had to attend to me, and as she cleaned me up and sewed me together the materials that she had was just thrown onto my stomach which was unecessary causing more discomfort.

Following that and abit of rest another nurse manhandled me to hurry me to get dressed to move to the postnatal ward as someone else needed the room, as she was pushing me about i threw up all over myself.

And when i thought most of the rudeness should be over by now, i asked for assistance to the toilet in the postnatal ward and the nurse said no.

What could be improved

Definately the nurses attitudes, again they see it all the time so they just assume its nothing.

Anything else?

The whole NHS system needs to change from the structure to its staff

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from St George's Hospital (Tooting)

We are sorry to learn of your concerns about your treatment whilst you were a patient at St George’s Hospital. Should you wish for your concerns to be investigated and responded to then please contact either the Patient Advice and Liaison Service or the Complaints and Improvements Department (links below.

http://www.stgeorges.nhs.uk/pals.asp

http://www.stgeorges.nhs.uk/docs/leaflets/complaintsexplained2007.pdf

We hope that any future contact that you have with the hospital will be of a more satisfactory nature.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful