"Waste of time"

About: Royal United Hospital

I was in a great deal of pain from an unknown injury. I did not think this was an emergency, but needed to be seen. I checked the RUH website to see if there was another option to A&E, as it was the weekend and my doctors were not open. It informed me of a section called UCC, which said people could have a walk-in appointment. I made my way there asking to go to the UCC, only to find out you had to make an appointment. I got booked in then and there - I cannot fault the staff on reception or how quickly I was seen, which I know is a rarity. Unfortunately, when I seen, I was made to feel in the way, a burden on everyone, and the member of staff I met was sure to speak loudly enough to make everyone aware of how stupid I was to come and see them. Using the exact words of the member of staff I met with, I was told the following; "Why did you even come here today?" , "No one is going to help you here" , "just go home". She took one look at my foot, did not even attempt to examine the painful area or anything. Stating "you can go now", she flung open the curtain, and left me on my own in the cubicle. I now not only feel like I wasted the staff's time, but most importantly, I feel I wasted my time and energy. I'm not even sure I was sent to the correct department. This was my first experience attending the RUH, and it doesn't make me want to go back.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Royal United Hospital

We welcome your comments regarding your experience at the RUH as it helps us to identify problems and improve the quality of our service and care. We are very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your visit at the weekend. We have shared your comments with B&NES Doctors Urgent Care who run the Urgent Care Centre part of the service within the A&E department. In order for us to jointly investigate your concerns fully we would ask that you provide more detail. Please would you contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 01225 825656 or via email at ruh-tr.PatientAdviceandLiaisonService@nhs.net

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful