"My experience at the Ultrasound/Gynaecology Unit"

About: Darent Valley Hospital

My experience at this unit was awful. As soon as I got to reception, I had to stand in front of the desk for a few minutes. It was only when I called out to the receptionist that she noticed me standing at the desk. This was my first dating/transnuchal scan at the hospital yesterday. Next, the Sonographer looked very bored and uninterested in being there and was very abrupt in answering questions. Sometimes I was completely ignored. There was no explanation about what she was doing and we had to keep asking her questions as we did not understand certain things. Considering the fact test I have had my eldest child in Princess Royal hospital, Farnborough and the service I received was fantastic throughout, I am really surprised and appalled at the Sonographer at Darenth Valley's attitude and I really do not want her at my next scan. Myself and my husband left feeling quite dissapointed on our departure considering we had been looking forward to this appointment for weeks on end. I am optimistic that not all sonographers present in this manner and I hope this is passed on to her to allow for some reflection on her part. Very poor attitude!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Darent Valley Hospital

We sincerely apologise that you experienced such a poor service when you visited us recently for your ante-natal scan. Pregnancy is an anxious time for many people and you should be given a full explanation, to the questions you raise. As a result of your comment, you have now been contacted by the department who have arranged another scan for you. Please do contact Pauline Mellor, Ultrasound Superintendent on 01322 428579 if you have any problems in the future. We wish you well for your pregnancy. Best wishes The Communication Department Darent Valley Hospital

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful