"2 week urgent cancer referral. "

About: cancer Centre Nottingham City hospital

(as a relative),

My father was appropriately referred by his GP for an urgent 2 week referral for a suspected cancer diagnosis. Under the NICE Guidelines it is clear that patients should be offered an appointment with a specialist within 2 weeks of referral to the acute sector. I am disappointed that this target was breached by NUH on this occasion. We are over three weeks post referral and are yet to have a consultation. We have called the hospital on a regular basis and have still not been offered an appointment with a Dr. RTT figures are a high priority for hospitals and the NHS in general, and I feel these figures could be miss reported in this hospital because there seems to be little urgency to stop the clock in an appropriate manner or consider the health needs of the patient. The excuse given on every occasion for lack of an appointment is that 'we are really busy'. I find this unacceptable.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust

Thank you for sharing your father’s experience and for taking the time to raise your concern. I am sorry to hear that you have been unhappy with the service your father has received following the referral by his GP, and that when you have been in touch to ask about his appointment, you feel the reasons for any delays have not been clearly explained. I would welcome the opportunity for our team to be able to investigate thoroughly what has happened in your father’s situation so that we can provide you with a full explanation, however we would need further information from you in order to do this. I would be pleased for you to get in touch with me directly by email at julian.skoyles@nuh.nhs.uk or phone my PA on 56694 should you wish us to look into this for you.

Julian Skoyles

Clinical Director, Cancer and Associated Specialties