"Great then horrible"

About: St Mary's Hospital (London)

I went in to St Mary's to be induced into labour. From the beginning they were amazing, throughout the pregnancy etc. Inducing was great, shared a room with others as the contractions started but didn't mind. Once I was in the delivery room someone noticed I had a tattoo since I had an epidura done. My tattoos are not bad just not to some peoples taste as it was my husband name. Had the baby then that night they said I would go to the next room without my husband because he had to go home. I have anxiety issues in a hospital and right after giving birth I wanted him around to help me especially since I hadn't slept in two days so a midwife said it was okay and he could stay with me. Once I was to the room that's where it went horrible, another midwife said he had to leave and told me that I should get help from a therapist for wanting my husband to stay the night with me and our new born baby. She told me I would have to speak to someone the next day about anxiety because I might not be fit to handle the next couple days as a new mother, this was after reminding her it was just hospitals I have anxiety in! Then the next day I was ready to go home, the midwife on that shift lied to me saying I couldn't go home because she had too many discharge paperwork to do. What she didn't tell me is that they complained about my tattoo of my Hubby's name and the midwife that previous night said my husband was controlling which was absurd, he was trying to calm the midwife down because she was making me feel like an unfit mother. When ever I asked a question each midwife would have a different answer. I stopped asking questions afraid they were hig going to make me feel bad again. Besides this happening I loved this hospital but I'll never return again and plan to go private if I have another child. The disrespect and lack of tact the two midwives showed me was so unprofessional and disgusting that I would never recommend anyone to this place. My baby was so perfect that she made me happy no matter what but they ruined what was supposed to be my baby's birth and did nothing but make me feel anxious and horrible. I'm still in disbelief that they treated us so badly! But life goes on!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from St Mary's Hospital

Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust is very concerned to read of your experience at St Mary's and we sincerely apologise for the distress you were caused. You have raised significant issues and it would be important to investigate and understand what happened and who was involved. If you would like us to take this forward please contact our PALS service pals@imperial.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful