"Change to earlier review entitled "mixed bag!""

About: Royal Blackburn Hospital

I am giving a second review as looking back and having visited the walk in at Accy Vic I feel the need to update my review. I left Blackburn not having seen a Doctor or without a diagnosis. After 5 days of co co codamol (what they sent me home with!)and still no better by Saturday morning I was advised by a Nurse to see a Doctor as she was concerned about my shallow breathing. Feeling a pain to bother two A and E departments in one week (never having done so in 58yrs!) I went along to Accy Vic-THANKFULLY. I was made to feel I wasn't a nuisance (as I was made to feel in Blackburn) a nurse assessed and said the Doctor needed to see me. I saw a brilliant Dr. who diagnosed Costoschrondosis a viral infection which needed anti inflammatory and paracetomol not the morphine and co co codamol which had in five days changed nothing! I am now on the road to recovery but no thanks to Blackburn A and E.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Wendy Stobbs, Patient Experience Manager, East Lancashire Hospitals NHS Trust

Many thanks for your second review feedback on your experience of our services, and thank-you for taking the time to do so. I will make sure both your appreciation of our Accrington site and your concerns about our Royal Blackburn one are passed onto the teams involved. I am very sorry to hear that some of your recent experience with us wasn't what you expected as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care, however it is lovely to hear your comments about our Accrington service.

If you would like to talk through both of your visits to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this such a poor and also such a good visit for you we would really value this so that we can try to make it positive every time a patient visits any of our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Wendy Stobbs) on 01254 734471 or email me on wendy.stobbs@elht.nhs.uk.

Or if you prefer you can discuss further any concerns you may have about our services with our Customer Relations team on 01254 733700 or complaints@elht.nhs.uk who can advise you of your options in raising these concerns further.

Many thanks for taking the time to comment and I do hope you are continuing to recover well

Regards

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Royal Blackburn Hospital

Dear Anonymous, Many thanks for your comment, which I replied to back in August via Patient Opinion, apologies that this does not seem to have linked through to NHS Choices as it normally does. As I mentioned in my previous post to you I am very sorry to hear that your experience of the department at Royal Blackburn wasn't what you expected as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care; but pleasing to hear that Accrington Victoria delivered good care for you. If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made the visit to Blackburn such a poor visit as compared to Accrington we would really value this so that we can try to improve things for every patient visiting our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Wendy Stobbs) on 01254 734471/ 01254 733704 or email me on wendy.stobbs@elht.nhs.uk Many thanks again Wendy Stobbs, Patient Experience Facilitator

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful