"Nurses, doctor and other staff ..."

About: Royal Shrewsbury Hospital

(as the patient),

What I liked

Nurses, doctor and other staff were polite and worked well together.

Hospital is generally clean.

What could be improved

Doctor in urogynaecology still has not, for some reason, done his letter to refer me to another member of staff to deal with my problem.

I am now in limbo as to what is going on as there seems to be a forgotten communication link and I feel left out generally due to STILL waiting to be treated. I am not happy at all at this.

The member of staff cannot treat me until she has got this doctor's referral letter and this results in me STILL sitting here waiting for some treatment and in pain.

I need help with this and have no where to turn as I cannot get hold of anybody or even the secretary as she is always out of office.

Very dissapointed and a complete waste of time in general as I am still not treated.

Anything else?

A bit of better communication wouldn't go a miss.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Royal Shrewsbury Hospital

We are very sorry to hear of your difficulties with your referral. NHS Choices is a confidential website so it does not share your contact details with individual NHS Trusts. However if you contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 0800 783 0057 or 01743 261691 then they will be able to chase this referral on your behalf. They will need to know your name, ideally your NHS or hospital number and the name of your consultant. The service is staffed from Monday to Friday, although during busy periods you may reach a telephone answering machine. If this is a case please leave your contact details and ask someone to call you as soon as they are available.

We aim to provide high quality, prompt care for every patient in our hospitals and we are always disappointed when your experience does not meet up to our expectations. Feedback from patients and relatives helps us to continually improve the safety and effectiveness of our services and the experience of the people who use them.

More information about how to make comments, compliments and complaints about our services can be found on our website at www.sath.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful