"accident and emergency department august 2014"

About: Manchester Royal Infirmary

It was a terrible night in August to arrive by ambulance at an already heaving department in manchester royal. Why could we not be relocated to the next hospital ? or shut emergency. it was noisy . My husband was in amber area room1 . It was noisy as it was a thoroughfare to red area.. he was left on a trolley as there were no beds on the wards ...if id known that was the state of this hospital we would have gone to stepping hill .. never again. he was not given a urinal . or drink a lll night and was without a call bell ,.When its busy they should have volunteers to assist people . No nurse thought of it .. he was calling out and no one answered him. what a state ! medical drs good ... Dispicable in this day and age not to be given respect and dignity.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Manchester Royal Infirmary

Thank you for the feedback you have given us following your visit in August and thank you for your positive comment regarding the doctors.

We were extremely sorry to hear of your unsatisfactory experience in the Emergency Department and the distress that this caused you and your husband.

Emergency Departments are very busy areas and as a result it can be quite distressing for patients and families, especially at times like you have described when demand for services rises. Staff should be aware of the impact this has on patients and relatives and make sure that all visitors to the department are made comfortable, kept informed and reassured that everything is being done to resolve the problems you experienced.

We acknowledge that it is unacceptable that your husband was not given a urinal or a nurse call bell and for that we apologise. We have shared your concerns with the staff in the Emergency Department to ensure they are fully aware of the issues you have raised.

We take all issues surrounding patient care very seriously but it is difficult to respond in more detail due to the lack of detailed information.

If you would like to contact our Patient Advice and Liaison service on 0161 276 8686 or by emailing pals@cmftnhs.uk we would be happy to discuss your concerns in more detail.

The Patient Experience Team

Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

We are very sorry to receive your comments and concerns via the NHS Choices and Patient Opinion website about your experiences when you attended the Emergency Department at the Manchester Royal Infirmary and the distress this clearly caused you and your husband.

The Emergency Departments can be a busy area and we expect staff to be aware of the impact this can have and ensure that patients are monitored regularly and cared for with dignity and respect in a caring and compassionate manner. We acknowledge that it is unacceptable that your husband was not given a urinal or a nurse call bell and for that we apologise.

We have shared your concerns with the staff in the Emergency Department to ensure they are fully aware of the issues you have raised.

We take all issues surrounding patient care very seriously but it is difficult to respond in more comprehensively due to the lack of detailed information. If you would like to contact our Patient Advice and Liaison service on 0161 276 8686 or by emailing pals@cmftnhs.uk we would be happy to discuss your concerns in more detail.