"feeling slightly offended."

About: Birmingham Women's Hospital

i am overdue in my pregnancy and lately i have been having issues such as lesser fm and mild contractions which i have had for near on 4 weeks now. ive been to this hospital 3 times in 3 weeks because of issues and each time i have been sent home feeling slightly more reasured but still worried. I was given an appointment for a scan because of the position of my baby possibly affecting the way i feel him move and his anterior placenta but when i recieved the call to tell me about this appointment i had to ask if i could ring back because i do not drive and have no money till wednesday to get to the hospital and needed to sort arrangements to be told by a midwife there that "if i care about the movements" then i will find a way to make it to the appointment because it will not be rearranged and i am overdue so its important. i found this rather offensive. of course i care about the movements i wouldnt of gone in if i didnt and to be spoken to in this manner was awful! i chose Burton to be my birthing hospital because of its fantastic reputation however in the last 2 weeks im feeling it has been overrated because of the attitude i have recieved from some staff.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Maria McLeod, Birmingham Women's NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for taking the time to feedback about your experience and we hope you have had a better experience since posting your response on Patient Opinion.

In your response you have referred to Burton but your posting is for Birmingham Women's Hospital.

If it is the Women's in Birmingham that you have been a patient and you would like to speak to someone about the issues you have raised, please feel free to speak to our PALS Team who can look into your concerns. They can be contacted on 0121 627 2747. We can also pass your comments on to the teams involved in your care.

However, if it is Burton where you were a patient, you may wish to contact their PALS team instead.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful