"Management attitude to Grandparents of Stillbirth Baby"

About: Warrington Hospital / Maternity

(as a parent/guardian),

Awful attitude towards myself and my Husband by management after the stillbirth of our Grandchild in Warrington Hospital. After expressing concern re my Daughter and her health caused by their insensitivity, I have been told to stop contacting them. May I ask of the Hospital if they realise that a tragedy like this affects the whole family. I myself am having to deal with the loss of my Grandchild and the grief of my Daughter and would expect more from the "caring Profession". These people need to be trained to put themselves into others shoes instead of seeing families as nuisances.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Warrington and Halton Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

All of us understand that it is heart-breaking for a family to lose a baby under any circumstances. It is clearly a difficult time for you and your family but it is for parents to determine how information is communicated and shared within the family. We are happy to support any family member in dealing with distressing situations, however discussion about individual cases cannot be shared without consent. If at any time you wish to discuss the comments you have made please get in touch with us and we will try to help within the confines of confidentiality.