"long wait!"

About: Royal Bolton Hospital

Admitted to the S.A.U due to having a high temperature due to an infection. After 24 hours on iv fluids I felt well. My temp, bloods and blood pressure was normal, x-ray was fine. I was then told I had to wait 24 hours for an ultrasound scan which meant another night in hospital and then I had to wait another 24hours for the scan result which meant another night in hospital. I was not allowed to leave the hospital until I had my scan results even though the sonographer said everything looks good and he was right! I'm so disappointed with this hospital andi think a lot needs to be improved.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Royal Bolton Hospital

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with your experience. Radiology always try to carry out in-patient scans within 24 hours of receipt. For this type of scan the report is always available immediately for clinician review. It may be, however, that the doctor caring for you might have thought you needed another night in hospital to make sure you were absolutely well enough to return home

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful