"Very Poor"

About: Medway Maritime Hospital

Went into A & E with excruciating stomach pain over a mont ago, went in via A & E and was sent off to medoc then up to the surgical team who sent me back to A & E, 2 hours later after the surgical team had finished with surgery I was sent back to them, after a lot of moaning I finally saw a doctor and was told I needed to stay in overnight, after various tests I was told it was my appendix and they hoped to have them out the next night, which to their credit the operation took place although communication was poor and all nurses I encountered were rude and again not briefed on my situation, after operation I was kept in for 3 days with still severe pain although I was continually told this was normal after appendix removal, I was also told this pain could be down to several other things and they were no longer sure this was what was causing the initial pain, then bizarrely I was told I could leave (with lots of painkillers) and that I would need to have a colonoscopy as they believe I may have crones?, I choose to have my appointment in darenth on the 4th of August but apparently Medway cancelled this as I was 'Their' patient and have scheduled me in for 23rd August when im away on holiday which is now in doubt, as I write this im still in terrible pain and have been back to my GP various times, I haven't eaten solids since before my visit to A & E last month, I have no explanation as to why my colonoscopy in Darenth was cancelled??? the service is awful, i could elaborate on other issues i encountered throughout my stay at medway, really feel let down and want my colonoscopy this coming Monday so we can finally get a diagnosis and i can go on my holiday.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Medway Maritime Hospital

I apologise for your experience in the emergency department and that you were referred back to us from MedOCC. It is our policy to refer appropriate conditions to MedOCC, which includes abdominal pain. On occasions once assessed by the GP in MedOCC it is apparent that the patient needs referring to the surgeons which they do directly. If you would like to discuss this further, please feel free to contact me John Fletcher, Senior Matron for the emergency department on 01634 830000 x3847.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful