"Two of the healthcare assistants ..."

About: Wansbeck Hospital

(as the patient),

What I liked

Two of the healthcare assistants were lovely, a credit to the hospital really.

What could be improved

The floors were extremely dirty, blood was on the bathroom floor for at least 6 hours on the day I was discharged - it was still there when I left at tea time. The floor around my bed was dirty - it looked like tea or coffee. I waited up to 2 hours for pain relief when I asked for it. I was not sent home with enough medication to complete the prescribed course.

Anything else?

I was asked what I would like for lunch & dinner 3 days in a row. There was only actually a meal for me on one occasion. The rest of the time I was given soup or a sandwich - hardly sufficient.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Wansbeck Hospital

We are very sorry to receive your comments and concerns via the NHS choices website. The care you describe would fall below the standard of care we would aim to provide to any patient. It is very difficult to respond to the specific concerns you have raised without being able to investigate in detail. If you would like to write to our Complaints Department we would be very keen to investigate and provide you with an accurate response. We offer our sincere apologies that you were unhappy with our service. If you do decide to write the address for your letter is:

Complaints Department

Northumbria Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust

Cobalt Business Park

Unit 7/8

Silver Fox Way

Newcastle upon Tyne

NE27 0QJ

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful