"Hospital fails to control ward temperatures"

About: Darent Valley Hospital

I have recently been treated in CDU and on Linden ward during the recent hot weather. It was unbelievably hot and for people like myself who find it difficult to regulate body temperature not a lot was done. I was told I couldn't have a fan and there was only one fan per ward! So that's 4 bays with windows that only open an inch fighting over one fan. The poor staff weren't coping that well with it either yet nothing was done. At it's peek I recorded a temperature of 36oC in Linden ward. Eventually after finding a hospital manager a fan for our bay appeared, but it had come from another ward. It's amazing that in this day and age nothing is done and people and staff are simply left to suffer without even fans on hand. Why is there no provision for some sort of air conditioning? I know there are infection control issues but this is 2014! I had absolutely wonderful care but in horrendous conditions with staff who seemed powerless to do anything.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Darent Valley Hospital

Dear Rowan Thank you for praising the wonderful care that you recently received at Darent Valley Hospital. We were however, concerned to read about the problems that you experienced due to the hot weather. We understand how unpleasant this can be for patients, visitors and staff alike. Each ward should have free standing fans as well a few large floor standing fans, we are sorry these were not in use during your stay. As you said, the hospital does not have air conditioning on wards although there is an air flow system in place but it is most effective when the windows are closed. We are sorry that the uncomfortable temperatures added to your distress during your stay with us. Kind regards The Communication Department Darent Valley Hospital

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful