"Terrible orthopaedics"

About: Tameside General Hospital

Orthopaedics is terribly run at this hospital. I fractured my wrist, needed internal plates and screws inserting under general anaesthetic. Was done by a hand surgeon apparently. After long rehabilitation I have been left in pain. I sought a private opinion from a top class Professor of hand surgery in the North West who said he would have to do the surgery again! Wish they had just left me in a plaster now (bet they had too)

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Lindsay Stewart, Deputy Director of Nursing, Tameside and Glossop Integrated Care NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for your comments. This is clearly not the standard of care we expect any of our patients to receive. However without the specific details this is difficult to answer. If you would like a more detailed response please could you contact the trust Pals/Complaints department if you haven’t already done so.

Many thanks

John Goodenough

Director of Nursing

‘’Would you like to help the hospital to improve its services further? We are currently looking for patients and carers to become involved in a development called “Patient Stories”. We want to know more about our services from the point of view of those who received them – what was good, bad, what could be improved, what should be changed. Want to know more about what’s involved? Please contact John Goodenough, Director of Nursing at

john.goodenough@tgh.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful