"Waiting for lab results"

About: Wishaw General Hospital / Gastroenterology

(as the patient),

This week, I had an appointment arranged for a check. Being on warfain medication, staff deemed it necessary to be sure my NRI level was acceptable before proceeding with the test. A blood sample was taken and sent to the lab for analysis. It took 1 & 3/4 hours for the results to be returned to the staff. Fortunately for me, the levels met criteria enabling the procedure to take place.

I have great admiration for the staff in the endoscopy unit and have had this procedure on a number of occasions without any issues. This time I was prescribed Warfarin for an irregular heartbeat.

When I visit the warfarin clinic the procedure only takes a few minutes.

I must express disappointment at the length of turnround time taken by the lab. and would like some action taken to remedy this situation.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Marion Mark, Director of Hospital Services, Wishaw General Hospital, NHS Lanarkshire

picture of Marion Mark

Dear Carluke Bill

I apologise that you were unsatisfied with your wait for laboratory blood test results in Wishaw General Hospital when you attended our endoscopy unit.

Please let me explain there are two ways of measuring INRs one is through the DAWN system which is a finger prick test that takes minutes. However when patients are going for a procedure a more thorough laboratory test is carried out which takes longer to analyse. I am sorry this was not explained to you at the time.

If you wish a fuller explanation please contact Yvonne Ross, Patient Affairs Manager by calling 01698366558 with your details and she will arrange for one of the clinical team to call you at your convenience to explain.

I am please you were satisfied with your care in the endoscopy unit and will pass on your kind comments to the staff in the unit.

I hope you are well.

Best Wishes

Marion

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Update posted by Carluke Bill (the patient)

Your response would seem to indicate that I may have to go through this procedure on each visit. Obviously I would like a faster turnaround response from the lab if that be the case, given that I have annual check ups.

Response from Marion Mark, Director of Hospital Services, Wishaw General Hospital, NHS Lanarkshire

picture of Marion Mark

Dear Carluke Bill

If you would like to give Yvonne your details I will get one of the nurses to explain Laboratory turn around times to you. There are reasons that test take a certain time as the analysers work at a certain speed.

We have recently refurbished our laboratories to assist with turnaround times for test.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Update posted by Carluke Bill (the patient)

Thank you for your recent update.

No doubt I shall find out if all is better at my next appointment.

Updates, changes and questions related to this story